April 26, 2024, 06:30:48 PM

Author Topic: Power steering in an FD, take 6... A new idea?  (Read 22431 times)

Offline wickedrx7

Power steering in an FD, take 6... A new idea?
« on: July 05, 2013, 08:57:50 AM »
I have been driving my swapped FD for about 7 years now. I have tried many different renditions of power steering and finally manual steering on my FD and have never been satisfied.  I have tried the spring mod, adjustable valve and then finally went fully converted manual rack.  All the PS options gave too much assist IMO.  I have been running fully converted manual rack for about 3 years and while it isn’t bad, it still annoys me in some situations.  I had no complaints about the stock FD steering so my goal here is to get that feel back!

The FD has what is called “Speed Sensitive Power steering”.  Simply put the FD gives you more assist at lower speed/RPM and less at higher.

My idea is to mount the FD power steering pump on the LS1.  I have done some preliminary test fitting and it looks like it will fit were the LS1 pump goes but I will need to relocate the fluid reservoir.  .  The bracket should be pretty simple to fabricate, I plan on doing a mock-up shortly.   I was concerned that the LS1 belt would not run on the FD pulley but it looks to be pretty good. 

Does anyone have any experience doing this? Any thoughts?

1993 Touring, 2012 L99, T-56, Ronnin 8.8, Ohlins, Speedhut, Samberg and lots of custom parts
Build Thread - http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=19354.0
Pictures - www.flikr.com/wickedrx7

Offline HXMan

Re: Power steering in an FD, take 6... A new idea?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 08:38:04 PM »
I would like to see this done.
94 RX7 w/LS2 Swap
ASE Master Technician

Offline ncaudio

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2013, 04:27:07 AM »