May 18, 2024, 06:59:47 PM

Author Topic: 92-95 Honda civic hatch Si throttle cable for Lsx/FD. -perfection-  (Read 6995 times)

Offline JimmyTNT

Soo ive been using this throttle cable since about 2004 or so, but another member from another board asked me about it, so i decided to give back and do a mini write up with pics. I mean after all my arrogant shit talking, i should at least give back some valuable info to the lsx/fd community! Just to the FD guys tho, i hate FCs, FBs are legit tho.

Personally the OEM FD throttle cable is too donkey dick long and just loops around too much for me. Seeing how i used to be a honda/acura guru i had all kinds of those parts laying around and in my head, i knew the throttle cable from a 92-95 civic hatchback si or 93-95 civic ex would be damn near perfection. aaaand i was right. Also, they can be had complete for $10 on ebay and are readily available. Even though i have a custom coil relocation setup, the cable will still fit under OEM ls1 coil brackets. The leaded throttle pedal end of the cable with plastic clip locks into the OEM FD pedal like it should and the firewall guide insert does the same as well. As you can see the cable is short and streamlines over the engine perfectly. The only downfall for some possibly, is that you will have to fab up your own throttle cable bracket off the intake manifold. The stock Ls1 one, will not work due to improper spacing, i mean after all, it is a civic throttle cable. However it took me about 10mins if that to make one. The one pictured is entirely half assed because the intake on my car currently is a C5 vette ls1 intake that i bought for $50 off craigslist for mock up. I stole my ls6 one off the rx7 for my 5.3 swap in my ranger  ;)  The pics are self explanatory on how i did it. i'l add captions.

-go figure photobucket is dicking me over right now...
« Last Edit: November 07, 2010, 03:51:40 PM by JimmyTNT »
93 Ls1 RX7 w/ PT88  (for sound effects)