April 27, 2024, 08:20:51 PM

Author Topic: Laminar's RX-8 EcoBoost swap thread  (Read 25741 times)

Offline Laminar

Laminar's RX-8 EcoBoost swap thread
« on: October 15, 2021, 03:12:51 PM »
No, not that EcoBoost. This one:

I think it's going to work, so I'm going to start a thread.

I want a quick, reasonably efficient, stick, 4 door, fun daily driver. Back in 2015 I put a 302 in an M3 and I've been rocking that for the past 6 years. It's close to what I want, but it's stinky (no cats), hot (no AC), gets 15mpg at best, and the chassis is showing its age. It's an awesome racecar, but not the best daily. Enter the RX-8.

It's nice, but it's not that quick and basically the same gas mileage as the M3 for half the power. But at least the AC works.

My first idea was a Mustang V6 - 300hp, lightweight, cheap. Should be a win, right? Nope! The upper intake is an absolute killer.

No way that's fitting under the hood. Okay, what can I get with a slimmer intake manifold? The GM V6 is fine, but it's been done before. Well, the EcoBoosts have a shorter manifold that sits down in the valley...

I had planned to turbo the 3.7 eventually so this just accelerates my plans.

The 2.7 is nice because:
- Dual injection means I can ignore the direct injectors and run E85 via the port injectors without issue
- Little baby turbos for instant spool
- CGI block is sweet and built for boost
- Lots of instrumentation for data collection

But will it fit? Almost!

Stripped off the turbos, the EGR system, and weighed it. Came in at 366lbs, same as the 3.7. Not bad for having a CGI main structure for a bazillion times more strength.

Went ahead and notched the subframe a bit to give me a little more wiggle room.

Snugged it up against the firewall

The hood almost closes. Without the insulation it'd probably latch. I may have to get the tiniest bit fancy to get some extra clearance.

Started working on engine mounts: