November 23, 2020, 10:26:39 PM

Author Topic: Racelogic TC setup  (Read 306 times)

Offline Gunnytron

Racelogic TC setup
« on: November 18, 2020, 05:59:45 PM »
does anyone have any idea why this log has such wildly fluctuating numbers?

this was at idle and stationary.

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline Skeltic

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2020, 06:42:51 PM »
start by cleaning the sensors and senor mounts
"You can sleep in your car, but you can't race your house."

Offline Exidous

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2020, 06:52:04 PM »
Noise in the chassis. Probably need to rework the grounds for the whole TC system unfortunately. That's spark noise I'm guessing.
94 BB Sleeved gen IV LS7, MS3ProU with TC, RONIN 8.8 and LT's with custom 3.5"single to VAREX muffler.

Offline Gunnytron

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2020, 02:58:36 AM »
OK thank for the input. I will see what the earthing situation is.
http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline kinger

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2020, 12:58:34 PM »
Almost looks like you have fuel injectors flipped with wheel speed in the harness wiring. 

That or spark noise
93 Touring, 6.3L, T56 Magnum, Mamo RPS BC2 clutch, FAST 90, NW 90TB TB, 8.8, samberg everything, AC, PS, TC, Cruise, LED Tails, HID head lights

Offline Gunnytron

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2020, 03:02:15 PM »
I just tried it without the engine running and I get a constant 950rpm with no signal from any of the wheel sensors (I had one wheel up so I could spin it).
http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline Gunnytron

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2020, 03:03:11 PM »
Almost looks like you have fuel injectors flipped with wheel speed in the harness wiring. 

That or spark noise

If that was the case it wouldn't start.
http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline Rhino1

  • In The Bleach Box
  • Location: Northampton, UK
  • Posts: 38
  • View Gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2020, 02:58:51 PM »
Where did you tap in to the wheel speed sensors and did you extend the wiring for these?

Was anything with an electric motor running, such as the fuel pump or interior fan?  Does it happen with the ECU powered up or connected?

Another option could be pulling the fuses until to the noise/ interference stops to identify the circuit its coming from.

Offline Sacrilegious-FD

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2020, 12:18:36 PM »
loved my TC hoping to be able to use it cutting spark instead of injector on Lt4

Offline Gunnytron

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2020, 01:20:25 PM »
Where did you tap in to the wheel speed sensors and did you extend the wiring for these?

Was anything with an electric motor running, such as the fuel pump or interior fan?  Does it happen with the ECU powered up or connected?

Another option could be pulling the fuses until to the noise/ interference stops to identify the circuit its coming from.

I tapped I to the sensors near the and unit

ECU would have been on. Fuel pump wasn't when I tried it without the engine running. Not sure about interior fan.

I checked the earth and it is currently tied in to an earth on the dash frame.

Good idea re the fuses.

http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline Rhino1

  • In The Bleach Box
  • Location: Northampton, UK
  • Posts: 38
  • View Gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2020, 04:46:46 PM »
Was that the control unit in the rear or the ABS unit in the engine bay?  If so did it have a screened cable and was this earthed at one end or both ends?  I'm not sure what it comes with as standard as I bought one secondhand and had to extend the ABS sensor cable, I used screened cable.

If the engine was off with both the ignition and injectors off as well, something is causing that signal and an electric motor or PWM ECU output could be a source of it? 

Out of interest can you zoom in on the log to show the shape of the waveform, i.e expand on the time axis?

Offline Gunnytron

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2020, 06:58:10 AM »
ok, to be clear, the unit is second hand. I have mounted it behind the panel near the trans tunnel in the passenger footwell (RHD). The abs sensor wires run from the control unit, along the top of the trans tunnel to the rear abs unit where I tap into the sensor wires. it is screened except for the last 6 inches or so. the screen wire is earthed in the boot and at the control unit it is connected to one of the pins.

The screen capture I posted is with the engine running.

With the engine off (key turned so unit gets power) I get no wheel speed signal and rpm is at 950 when it should be 0.
http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline Rhino1

  • In The Bleach Box
  • Location: Northampton, UK
  • Posts: 38
  • View Gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2020, 08:55:37 AM »
Thanks for clarifying that, I'm fairly certain that the screen is only meant to be earthed at one end, otherwise you can get a ground loop effect where some of the current flowing back through the chassis will flow through the screen and cause interference issues.

Could try disconnecting the screen from the earth/ chassis in the boot to see if it makes any difference.

Offline Gunnytron

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2020, 12:37:26 PM »
Thanks, I will.chexk that. It came wired for a BMW Sonu also need to go through each wire the make sure it is in the correct pin.
http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=12880.0
FD, LS1 running 220 3.90 Trickflow heads, Comp Ultra-gold Arc 1.72 Rockers, 7.550 BTR Pushrods, BTR Stage II NA Cam 227/234 .614"/.576" 113+2, ARP Head Bolts, BTR Platinum Springs, Ported FAST 90, NW 90mm TB, FAST 60lb Injectors, Textralia Clutch/Flywheel, T56, Cobra 8.8, 31 spline, trac-loc 3.55 Diff, Holley HP EFI, Racelogic TC.

Offline Cobranut

Re: Racelogic TC setup
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2020, 12:50:08 PM »
Thanks for clarifying that, I'm fairly certain that the screen is only meant to be earthed at one end, otherwise you can get a ground loop effect where some of the current flowing back through the chassis will flow through the screen and cause interference issues.

Could try disconnecting the screen from the earth/ chassis in the boot to see if it makes any difference.

This is correct.
Also it's usually best to ground the shield at the end closest to the device that is reading the signal, ie: your racelogic unit.
1995 FD, 7.0 Liter stroked LS3, T56, 8.8, Samberg kit.