April 02, 2020, 01:03:43 PM

Author Topic: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?  (Read 682 times)

Offline waLIEN

  • In The Bleach Box
  • Location: Temecula, CA
  • Posts: 71
  • Call me Gramps!
  • View Gallery
    • View Profile
Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« on: February 24, 2020, 07:33:57 PM »
Has anyone used something like this before: https://www.amazon.com/Auto-Meter-5289-Speedometer-Interface/dp/B0077A6B86/ref=asc_df_B0077A6B86/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312157681632&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=15826123227761710676&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1014327&hvtargid=pla-634564318277&psc=1#ace-g8881249860

I think my DD is jacked up because all it does is cause the speedo to bounce from 0-40 mph (entire cluster has been rebuilt). I was thinking of trying one of these out and not having to mess with the dip switches.
-1993 RX-7: LS1/T56 swap
-2010 Miata PRHT: Daily Driver

Offline stubbyfoil

  • In The Bleach Box
  • Location: Baltimore, MD
  • Posts: 68
  • Boosted burning tires
  • View Gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2020, 03:11:36 PM »
as i said in the comment box, I use a Speedhut GPS speedo in my car along with all other Speedhut gauges. the thing is pretty cool. You can program it to do 0-60 and quarter mile passes. Its pretty damn accurate compared to my time slips from the track.
:drive: :secret:

Offline wickedrx7

Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2020, 04:12:51 PM »
There are a handful of guys on here that have speedhut god speedos. It has worked great for me and is surprisingly accurate.


1993 Touring, 2012 L99, T-56, Ronnin 8.8, Ohlins, Speedhut, Samberg and lots of custom parts
Build Thread - http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=19354.0
Pictures - www.flikr.com/wickedrx7

Online MPbdy

Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2020, 06:04:00 PM »
I have a speedhut gps speedo and the needle lags behind the acceleration of the car.  It also loses signal under overpasses and the needle wags around like crazy until it catches signal again.

I stuffed the antenna under the dash.  Might be better if you give it line of sight through the windshield, but I couldn't find a place I was happy with it. 

Works well enough for me to be happy with it - just kinda weird to lift after a pull and not know how fast you got up to.

Offline wickedrx7

Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2020, 06:24:23 PM »
I mounted my antenna under the gauge hood. It does lose signal under bridges but never notice it lagging behind.

1993 Touring, 2012 L99, T-56, Ronnin 8.8, Ohlins, Speedhut, Samberg and lots of custom parts
Build Thread - http://www.norotors.com/index.php?topic=19354.0
Pictures - www.flikr.com/wickedrx7

Offline Clutch450

  • In The Bleach Box
  • Location: Lancaster, PA
  • Posts: 11
  • View Gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2020, 10:30:00 AM »
For what it is worth, if you were looking to keep your stock gauge, Dakota Digital has a GPS unit now.
For $200 it may be worth a try.


https://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=product/product_id=837/category_id=287/mode=prod/prd837.htm
'94 LS2/T56 FD
'99 Mitsu GSX - E85 650whp (SOLD)
'05 Duramax - Twin turbo car hauler
'18 HD Street Glide

Offline nadeem

Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2020, 08:52:59 AM »
I did aswell for a while - But ended up removing it - When going through tunnels or where signal cannot be reached - Personally for me, I did'nt want to go with this option.  It's just a question of getting the calibration right - With the non GPS option and since there are speed markers around town that tell you what your speed is - I was able to get mine right.

Offline wompa164

Re: Has anyone used a GPS speedometer sensor for the FD?
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2020, 11:09:37 AM »
My first thought - why can't a GPS speedo use an accelerometer to fill in the gaps? Most smartphones can do this easily.

https://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=product/product_id=837/mode=prod/prd837.htm

Quote
Highly advanced electronic and software design allow the GPS-50-2 to work unlike anything else, with accelerometers and predictive software to compensate for times when GPS inherently struggles: overpasses, mountains, tunnels, heavy tree cover, large buildings, passing large vehicles, etc.

It looks like maybe they updated their design.