April 24, 2024, 06:22:39 AM

Author Topic: Mississippi FD - 383CI Forged LS1 Stroker Build  (Read 345255 times)

Offline halfspec

Mississippi FD - 383CI Forged LS1 Stroker Build
« on: May 06, 2010, 10:14:59 PM »
Update - 6-22-16 -> This build officially wrapped up between April and May of 2016 or pages in the mid 60s of this build thread. My priorities have changed vastly over the 6 year build so when I met all of my goals and the car was finished I expressed my interest to sell and the car was purchased before I was able to even officially list it. Member kinger is the current owner of the car now and his thread picks up where mine left off. You can visit his build thread here

Hello,

My name is Lane Simmons, I'm an Electrical Engineer and I have been interested in building a V8 RX7 for about 4 years before beginning this build. I've owned 2 mr2's over the past 10 years but recently got my chance to switch over to RX7's and I made my move after selling my mr2 turbo to my younger brother.

I was very fortunate to meet someone locally who was selling their 1993 FD roller + 1 7/8 JTR headers + full Hinson's V8 conversion over eBay. After talking to the owner extensively over the phone we worked out a price and I purchased it directly. At the time, he was pulling the LS1 he'd built for the RX7 to put into his 69 (If I remember correctly) Camaro. However, a few weeks down the road he offered to sell me the engine, transmission, and clutch as well because someone made an offer on the Camaro he apparently couldn't refuse. It turned out that it was an offer I too could not refuse

Plan -

Engine:
Ls1 aluminum block built for 10.4:1 compression with only 4k miles on it as built.
Complete assembly is balanced
Forged flat top 3.90" Mahle pistons
Forged Eagle rods
Forged Eagle stroker crank with 4" stroke designed to displace 383CI.
Patriot LQ9 heads with 72cc chambers 2.055"/1.60" valves with harland sharp 1.7 roller rockers.
Comp pushrods and lifters.