May 20, 2024, 03:45:01 AM

Author Topic: Adam's Slow 5.3L JDM FD Swap Thread  (Read 30977 times)

Offline BrownBoy

Adam's Slow 5.3L JDM FD Swap Thread
« on: May 19, 2010, 10:58:40 AM »
Hey everyone! :)

I've been a long-time lurker on this forum and recently joined to get some opinions and start up my sloooow build thread. I'm calling it "slow" for two reasons; the first reason being that my target completion date is going to be the end of May 2011 so I'll definitely be taking my time with this one.  I'm currently in school and I've never built or swapped an engine before so it'll be a great learning experience for me.  I've done basic maintenance to cars myself and I have experience installing parts and replacing things, but nothing quite as intricate as an engine swap.  The second reason why I'm calling this my "slow build" is because I have a lower power goal than most of you guys on here. I'm keeping the engine NA and hope to achieve around 350-ish RWHP.

I haven't worked out the finer details of the build quite yet.  Things like which cam to use, whether I'm going to use the GM ECU or a Standalone EFI system, whether to bore out the engine or not, will be decided after further research of those topics is done.

So, let's get started, here is my FD:

Thanks to Ryan Venzon for the fancy pictures. ;)

I imported the car myself from Japan into Canada in March 2009 and it was completely stock except for a Racing Beat DP/cat-back, Rota Boost wheels and a few other small things.  The car had 88k kms (~55k miles) on it so I changed all fluids, fixed up some small things and upgraded what I thought was necessary.  I knew I was going for the LS swap eventually so I left the motor as it was.

Last week, I was approached with an offer I couldn't refuse for a 5.3L iron block V8 from a 2000 Silverado (LM7) and the 4l60e tranny so I took advantage of that and thus the build begins.